ScamVictimsUnited.com

There is strength in numbers.

Scams in Today's News:

Bookmark and Share
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:36 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Academic scams
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 6:55 am 

I thought members would be interested to know about a very interesting scam that has been going around lately (well, interesting from my perspective, I research scams for a living :) ).

It is, in form, a very well executed spearphishing attack. It targets academics, and would be particularly effective against postgraduate students (I know it took me a while to realize it is a scam and at least one of my colleagues didn't, but got stopped by me in time).

The way it works is:
You get an email, from a 'journal editor' (in my case from Science Journal of Economics. The web-page URL is sciencejournals.cc) asking for peer review of an article. Now, for those of you who are not familiar with academic publishing - all articles are reviewed, for free, by researchers in the chosen field. They post reviews to the editor and the editor makes a decision about publishing said article. A legit peer review request would look almost identical to the one received.

The Journal web page seems OK. On the face of it, the fledgling journal is sparsely populated with articles, but hey, you've got to start somewhere, right (for me an additional issue was, that a fortnight ago, I actually did speak in person to an editor of a small family run journal, whose name I have instantly forgotten, but he asked me to write for him. So I was not completely sure whether this was the same guy, who first wanted to test my reviewing skills, before asking for an article).