There is strength in numbers.

Scams in Today's News:

Bookmark and Share
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:55 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Got a scamemer, Hoping to bait them into giving up something
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:44 am 

Hey all,

just registered cause I recently put up a ad for a roommate and got a nice e-mail from an Irish Girl wanting to rent. Well At first I was open, then I started to get suspicious after a few e-mails. So being that I am by trade a computer security expert, I decided to play this thing out to the end to see what is going on. Anyhow I am now to the point where the scammer has sent me a cashier's check for $3800. Luckily I have a Business account with my local bank so I can get the check verified for like $10. Once I get my Bank to verify it, I will then move onto having some fun. Anyhow here is the latest exchange of e-mails and the origional one
Quote:
Okay, thanks a great deal. Kindly let me know all the necessary information needed after you are through with the transaction tomorrow.

Looking forward to meet you soon.

Regards.

Benjamin wrote:
Hello,

Yes I did miss the UPS man today. Unfortunately by the time I got your e-mail I was already at the office as was anyone else who could have gotten the note up. I will ensure that it is picked up after hours or tomorrow on redeliver. As for my Work schedule, I will be available to pick you up regardless of what time it may be. One of the privileges of being an executive is that I can schedule myself to be out of the office as need be so picking you up is not a problem on my end.

Ben

Sent: Wednesday, August 15, 2007 12:51 PM
To: Benjamin
Subject: STATUS

Hey there, i guess you miss the package today, ups agent was there to deliver it but you are not there to sign for the pckage.

I guess Ups will be there agin tomorrow, please kindly make yourself available to sign for the package, better still you can pick it up from any ups office close to you.