ScamVictimsUnited.com

There is strength in numbers.

Scams in Today's News:

Bookmark and Share
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:01 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Secret Shopper SCAM WITH A NEW NAME! DON'T BE A VICTIM!
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 1:38 pm 

I was so excited when I saw the ad on craigslist, I really was. I worked in retail for a long time and we had secret shoppers every month so I figured when I applied there was such thing, and I'd be ok.
I was wrong.
I got an email, I'll post below afterwards, from a James Johnson, telling me about all the secret shop information, then he sent another email with a tracking number and saying I should recieve a check in the mail FOR $2,860.00 and I could keep $600, $50 for transportation, $100 for the secret shop at walmart and $2110 to be sent in a money gram from western union to a place in australia.
I called my mom, luckily she had watched something on Judge Judy (haha) about a scam like this, so I looked up the bank, SunTrust Bank in Nashville, called them and asked them to check the account number. IT WAS A FAKE. It was from a Downunder Theatrical Productions, also fake.
The company name he used was :
SHANE ROBINSON
SECRET SHOPPER® INCORPORATION
4609 Collins Avenue
PO BOX 120921
St Louis, MO 63114

but it was sent from:

James Johnson
Hiring Manager
Miller Survey/Evaluator Consultant

This is such crap. There is no way to catch this person? I contacted the bank they are "using" and they just said it was a fake account number, and that was that. I'm sure he's using different names and scammed many people, but thanks to my mom, judge judy, and you guys on here I wasn't one of them.

here are two of the emails sent to me

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 7:04 AM
From: "James Johnson" <j_johnson127@hotmail.com>Add sender to ContactsTo: ..........@yahoo.com Message contains attachmentsEVALUATION INSTRUCTIONS.rtf (4KB)

Survey Agent,