ScamVictimsUnited.com

There is strength in numbers.

Scams in Today's News:

Bookmark and Share
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 3:55 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: I want your opinion: could a warning message reduce 419?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 3:53 am 

Hello all,

I am new here but I have been baiting these 419ers for about 12 months now, and more just seem to keep coming.

So I would like to petition certain email-providers (e.g. Yahoo, Fsmail, Hotmail etc. but also the smaller ones) to include a warning message to all subscribers about the dangers of advance-fee fraud.

Most of these providers offer you a "welcome" mail when you first sign in. If you have been the victim (or came close to being the victim) of a 419 scam I would like to know your thoughts on this.

Do you think including a warning message about 419 in the "welcome" mail would have helped you? Would you have read it when you signed up, or would you have just deleted it?

If you think a warning message may have helped you, perhaps you would like to write a paragraph below, briefly explaining what email service you were using when the fraudsters made contact with you (so that we could include that service in our petition) and also giving a few reasons why such a warning would help others who sign up for an account. The reason I am asking this is so that I could quote you in a letter that could be sent out to email-providers. I think a genuine victim of the scam would hold more sway with them, as, in a way, you are their customer, and even though they can't be legally held responsible, they could take steps to make their customers more aware of the problem.

Also, if any of you paid money through Western Union, do you think that they took adequate steps to warn you? Personally I think WU could be doing more to warn people sending money to West Africa, so perhaps they should also be targets of the petition.

Thank you

Jien-Yu Hui